Our extended-stay Schenectady, NY hotel boasts river views and thoughtful amenities to make you feel at home.
After the war, as many as five separate companies were using the armory, and throughout the 1920s they began lobbying for another new armory.
The state finally began construction of the current building in 1936.
The facade is otherwise embellished with details representing both the Art Deco and Tudorbethan styles.
Projecting perpendicularly to the main administration building on the east is the drill shed, a gable-roofed wing with its windows spaced by buttresses with stone caps.
The hotel went bankrupt but was quickly reused as Schenectady County Community College's Elston Hall.
By the 21st century the armory had again grown outdated, and the state's Division of Military and Naval Affairs closed it down on November 10, 2008, to save heating costs.
A three-member commission including Furman chose the hill in Crescent Park overlooking the city as the site for a three-story red brick building with a polychrome slate roof.
Records show an "83rd Regiment" drilling in the armory until it disbanded in 1874.
It is on a 1.9-acre (0.77 ha) lot with one other building, a modern garage not considered a contributing resource to the Register listing.
The armory itself is a T-shaped building of brick on a steel frame structural system.
New York's state architect at that time, William Haugaard, used the Art Deco architectural style for the exterior of the building and the Tudorbethan mode for the interior. It was home to two units of the New York Army National Guard until it was closed in 2008.